Day 13 NaNoWriMo 15

Wow, and I mean WOW!

I have made it halfway today. And it’s even before 7:30 PM.

This has been a hard day of writing. Not only because of the whole making it halfway thing. And that is very important, but also because wrote two very emotionally draining scenes.

Anyone that says something along the lines of, “What’s the big deal? They’re  only characters that you made up, so what?”

This is the heart and soul of being writers. We create. Out of our imaginations (making us rather childlike, yes?) we complete new scenarios, if not whole new worlds. Being that this is a steampunk novel. I feel I fit somewhere in the creative middle.

The point to this raving is that as writers, we do get emotionally drained, if not exhausted, by what we do.

Since I began writing, I have discovered that writers of all stripes, not only can, but have to get emotionally invested, if  he or she want’s the writing to be believable or better yet visceral. That means taking emotional risks. That is what I did today.

As for the reward I promised myself… it will have to wait until tomorrow. Don’t worry, I will pick out something nice for me. 🙂

For the other novelists that read this: Am I just whacked or do all of you get as emotionally invested?

I’d really love to hear from you.

As for my novel…

Words today: 2347

Words total: 25,017

10 thoughts on “Day 13 NaNoWriMo 15

  1. It’s such a lovely thought. ‘we create out of our imagination’ . Rather like children, you say. Makes me want to create fiction and fantasy too! I’ll wait for the next nanowrimo. Good luck and congratulations on today’s work!

Leave a Reply

