Redefining “Me”

Last Friday I was diagnosed with depression.

I’m Not sure what that means. At least for me.

In the most analytical sense I guess I knew it for some time. I’ve been sleeping poorly, I had been drinking more (although I got that reversed), I’ve lost interest in things that I once really enjoyed (although not in writing for some reason, thankfully) and I’ve had a general feeling of lethargy.

But what I’ve been turning over in my own mind is what that means to me emotionally. The diagnosis doesn’t change anything, really.  All diagnosis did was put a label to what has been bothering me, right? It doesn’t change what I love to do or who I love. It just gives me a starting point.

A starting point to find who I am and where I’m going. One thing’s for sure; writing will be a big part of it.

Anyway, I also wanted to take the time to thank all of you that follow this. It’s nice to know someone is listening. Thanks again.

Peace to you all.

9 thoughts on “Redefining “Me”

      • Hey, Thomas, thanks for following me back. Don’t know if you’ve checked out my blog but it’s main focus is mental health, primarily depression and anxiety. I’ve done tons of research and have experienced the illness myself in the past and have had friends and family who’ve succumbed as well. My blog is all about what I learned along the way to my recovery. I have been “clinically” depression-free for almost fifteens years now. You will get there, too. God bless and have a good day.

  1. *hug* I’m glad you reached out and sought answers about why you were feeling off. It’s so much easier to be stagnant, to hide, to say we’ll feel better tomorrow. And maybe we will. But in a couple weeks it comes back again and nothing has really changed. A diagnosis is just a label, but I hope it’s also a bit of relief. That what you’re feeling isn’t just made up, and now that you have an answer, you can improve your quality of life.

    • It’s been so much more than feeling out of sorts or blue. I started to realize this was more serious when I started to lose interest in running and my photography and my sleep was being broken almost every night.

      ANd thanks, are right though, I do find some relief in being diagnosed.

      I’m going to try to live my home state of Wisconsin’s motto, “FORWARD”.

Leave a Reply

