Tonight, I’m Setting Aside Writing For Reading.

That’s right, tonight I am taking a break from doing background work for my NaNoWriMo project to allow time for some reading. I’m at a point where I feel that I really should take a break so that I don’t start to force idea. After all, who wants to read a novel that reads like it’s been forced with story points and characters start to come across as contrived at best,

I think we’ve all read enough of those.

So the choice is between the next Cherie Priest novel in the Clockwork Century series of A Clockwork Orange. And if you are wondering, no, there is no intentional fixation on the word “clockwork”. They just happen to both be on my TBR shelf.

Those two and numerous others like, Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, reread Dubliners (I even have a cat named James Joyce), Cherie Priest’s Maplecroft, Sirens of Titan, Breakfast of Champions (I’ve always loved Kurt Vonnegut‘s work), Warlord of the Air, The Alchemy of the Stone… OK, I think you’re probably getting the picture. My tastes range all over the map.

I guess I can thank, or blame, my dad for always encouraging me to read almost anything and everything.

What does anyone else have on their To Be Read list?

2 thoughts on “Tonight, I’m Setting Aside Writing For Reading.

  1. I have the final of Gillian Flynn’s three books I still haven’t read: “Sharp Objects.” I’ve been wanting to get to it for so long, but I always end up grabbing something else. Next book for sure. Happy reading!

  2. Just finished Anne McCaffrey’s Crystal Singer. Hope to snag the other two books in Killashandra (Crystal Singer trilogy). In that first book, a side effect of the work of the main character is losing access to memories. I believe writing and reading has that benefit/curse too, but only temporarily.

Leave a Reply

