Meta-Writing Continued

Here I am collecting material for my first novel. Wow, what a daunting task.

A near future novel set in Oshkosh, Wisconsin (Stick with what you’re familiar with) with the protagonist, lately released from prison, trying to make her way in the world. OK, it’s more complicated than that , but I don’t want to tip my hand too much right now.

So to all my writing followers a few questions:

Do you develop characters first or plot arcs?

How do you go about researching factual events, people, things, events to add realism to your fiction?

Do you advise a writer to just start writing or work from notes?

When writing do you jump from one chapter/ situation to another without following the developing story line?

Any other advise you could throw my way?

The reason I ask these is that my background in English is theory and criticism, (I can hear the cries now of “BURN THE WITCH! BURN HIM!!”) But really it isn’t as bad as all that. My first choice in academia was pre-law. (Hmmmm… I’m not helping my case any, am I…) Anyway, while I still have one or two followers left,  I ended with a degree in journalism. I did take a class in creative writing that was pretty much an intro course but as you may have guessed, my forte’ to this point in time is analytic writing.

So I’ve had this idea for a novel rattling around in my little noggin for some time and I am hoping for a little help to evolve it into a full-fledged book.

So what do ya say? Help a guy out that’s trying to mend his criticism ways?

TR

 

Leave a Reply

